Skip to product information
  • TOM WAITS: Alice 2LP (180 gram, color vinyl)
1 of 1

TOM WAITS: Alice 2LP (180 gram, color vinyl)

Regular price $29.99
Regular price Sale price $29.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

New vinyl

Never one to be outdone, Tom Waits released ALICE and BLOOD MONEY simultaneously, both featuring music written for plays directed by Robert Wilson. Loosely based on THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS, ALICE is much more low-key and ballad-heavy than its companion release, but just as incisive and affecting. The title track is a smoky, jazz-tinged torch song that conjures pleasant memories of Waits's evocative work for Francis Ford Coppola's film ONE FROM THE HEART. 'Everything You Can Think' is an absurdist portrait a la the seminal RAIN DOGS. Waits opens the door to the freak show on 'Poor Edward,' a disturbing tune about a man with a female face on the other side of his head, and the more light-hearted 'Table Top Joe,' a swinging, jazzy tale of a character with no bottom half but plenty of rhythm. Despite the effective journeys into the bizzaro universe, perhaps the most stirring moments on ALICE are the wounded romantic ballads 'Fish and Bird' and 'I'm Still Here,' where Waits's knack for a classic melody mates perfectly with a lyrical combination of wistfulness and regret.

A1 Alice
A2 Everything You Can Think
A3 Flower's Grave
A4 No One Knows I'm Gone
A5 Kommienezuspadt
B1 Poor Edward
B2 Table Top Joe
B3 Lost In The Harbour
B4 We're All Mad Here
B5 Watch Her Disappear
C1 Reeperbahn
C2 I'm Still Here
C3 Fish & Bird
C4 Barcarolle
C5 Fawn