Skip to product information
1 of 1


Regular price $22.99
Regular price Sale price $22.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Flamin' Groovies played a major role in the evolution of power pop and are considered a forerunner of punk rock.

Flamin' Groovies "Now" isn't quite as cohesive as "Shake Some Action", the album that preceded it, but in many respects the band sounds at once tighter and more relaxed, with some time on the road firming up the rhythm section while giving the songs a bit more room to swing (which wasn't one of the strong suits of the British Invasion bands that provided their aural template)

Track Listing

  • Feel A Whole Lot Better
  • Between the Lines
  • Ups And Downs
  • Move It
  • Take Me Back
  • Reminiscing
  • Good Laugh Mun
  • Yeah My Baby
  • House Of Blue Lights
  • Blue Turns To Grey
  • Paint It Black
  • All I Wanted

Sales Points

  • The Groovies are still active and tour periodically
  • Similar to Plimsouls, Nick Lowe, Big Star, Marshall Crenshaw
  • Produced by Dave Edmunds
  • Unavailable anywhere, in any format, for at least 2 years
  • The second LP released by the Groovies on Sire/Warner and fifth overall
  • The LP is only available as “used”

Press Quotes

But if not a perfect record, Flamin’ Groovies Now still feels like an essential one in terms of the band’s discography, its blend of originals and covers reminiscent of Yo La Tengo’s Fakebook, which is high praise.

     —Joseph Neff, The Vinyl District